News

Dear fellow members 11 March 2014

Thanks to Anne and Mick for coming forward for the first of the April rides. If there’s going to be a ride on 20 April (Easter Sunday) we need a volunteer (or volunteers) very soon.  I can’t take it on since I’ll be at the Easter Meet in Beverley. I suggested last time that an off road route would be preferable on such a traffic busy day – but Jim tells me that it would be impossible to get east of Lewes by train. If I was going to be around I think I might go for my old Shoreham Beach/Shoreham Fort/Widewater Lagoon ride which has the merit of not needing a train on a day when there seem to be a lot of uncertainties about engineering works. Any offers?

And of course I hope to be receiving offers for rides in May and June too!

*          *          *

23 June Ride Report

As you’ll see below, Jim will be leading the next ride. I hope to be able to come on it but Sue and I are off to (eventually) Venice soon after so I won’t be able to get the newsletter out.  So if it falls to you to  write the ride report please send it not to me but to Roger at hinton@clara.net

*          *          *

A Mystery Solved!

In the “Cycling in the 1890s” feature last time I quoted a mention of “the maker of the Manchester spanner, Mr. E Tilston” and commented that “I drew a blank with an internet search for the Manchester spanner so you’ll just have to imagine what its unique properties might have been. (Unless anyone has got one and can let me know about it in which case all will be revealed in the next edition.)

Well, T J rose immediately to the challenge and within hours I received the following email

Googling Tilston & Spanner  gives us this US patent from 1895:

www.google.co.uk/patents/USD24290

which looks like part of a mechanism for an adjustable spanner.

Aha!  And here we have the UK patent from 1896.

www.adjustable.archivist.info/patents/GB/1896/GB189514525A.pdf

So we have another thing to thank Clarionets for!

So much for me as a researcher! Well done and thanks TJ!

*          *          *

Kit for B&H Clarion?

You will have seen the collage of Clarion kit in Boots and Spurs.  So the emails which follow to me from Mick and to Mick from Alex of London Clarion seem to be timely. Self-explanatoary, I think. I’ve edited them slightly for brevity’s sake. What do you think?

Hi Ian

Please see below. I know there has been a sort of defiant pride in being a shabby bunch compared to the “proper” cyclists we see on rides but I wonder whether it is worth circulating Alex’s email or copy and paste into the next newsletter to see if there is any interest in badges or tops. The London Clarion kit was rather splendid!
Mick

Dear Mick – Boots!,

When we met at the end of last year you asked me about how Brighton & Hove Clarion could go about getting their own cycling kit. With apologies, I misplaced your card until recently hence my delay in replying.

This is what we did.

First of all we devised a club logo (yours could perhaps be representative of your area). Once we all agreed on it, we then sent it to Badger Badges who produced some embroidered badges like the one we gave you which members can sew on to their kit.

sales@badgerbadges.co.uk – 50 Badges at £3.18 each plus VAT (other quantities / prices available)

As a part of that ordering process, Badger Badges sent us a proof which we cut from the white background so that we could use it as a design on other items.

We then found Champion Systems, who are our kit manufacturers. They have an online design suite but alternatively can be sent a rough drawing of what you have in mind which they can convert in to a proper mock-up. They will need your logo and any other Clarion logos you want to include (which we can probably send you) sent to them as jpegs. Once you approve their proof and pay (minimum 10 items first order) you usually get the kit within a few weeks. They have a really good selection of sizes with most oversized people catered also for.

ciaran.dunne@champ-sys.com – Jerseys work out at approx. £50 each inc. VAT.

I hope you don’t mind but I have copied in Ciaran to this e-mail in case he can assist you further. He might have a better idea about how you can produce your logo in the first place.

We are all extremely pleased with Champion Systems. They are very approachable and the kit is of an extremely high standard.

Hopefully, see you soon – perhaps on the 23rd?

Best, Alex

Anyone for Dieppe?

I few  weeks ago I included a message from John about the “Dieppe Raid” in June,asking anyone interested to get in touch  with him. Apparently, there was no great response and John has now signed up to go with the London Clarion who have participated in the past. So if there is anyone interested I suggest you get in touch with both John at johnjo.clinton@yahoo.co.uk and Alex Southern (of the London Clarion) alex.southern.as@gmail.com

Details of the event on www.dieppetour.com.

*          *          *

Cycling on Pavements

The following report on pavement cycling in the January-March “Bricycles News” started with this paragraph:

“In January 2013, Cycling Minister Robert Goodwill MP, Under Secretary of State for Transport, reiterated Home Office guidance from 1999, that (Bricycles underlining – my bold) the police should not fine cyclists for riding on pavements if they are doing so through fear of traffic and cycling considerately.”

This was Suzanne’s response.

Dear Mr Goodwill,

I am a regular cyclist in and around Brighton.  I cycle in France every year, on holiday.  I belong to a cycling club.  I am 67 years old.

I am appalled by your support of cycling on pavements.  In our city, the most common “pavement cyclists” are lazy, fit young men. They are taking a short cut or simply start on the pavement outside their home and stay on it. They almost always exceed the 4 miles per hour which is the maximum speed for an electric invalid buggy (Law UICHR 1988 reg 4).

You talk of “cycling considerately”. Who is to test what “considerately” means?  Who is to catch a cyclist who has no registration number and is gone in a flash.

The usual response if you ask a cyclist to not cycle on the pavement is generally offensive. The worst response is the recent attack on Andrew Young in Bournemouth. I have never had to speak to a woman over the age of 30 or a man over the age of about 45. These are the more vulnerable people, and yet those who cycle, cycle on the road.

Rather than bending the law in order to relieve the overstretched police, you should be helping to change the ethos so that cycling on pavements is no longer acceptable. Spitting has more or less been eradicated in England. It was a change of ethos. Dog fouling has decreased immensely in the last 20 years. It was a change of ethos.

The Highway Code clearly states (para. 64) You MUST NOT cycle on a pavement. [Laws HA 1835 sect 72 & R(S)A 1984, sect 129].

A bicycle is a vehicle and belongs on the carriageway. Pavements are for the safety and comfort of pedestrians.

Yours sincerely

Suzanne Hinton (Mrs)

What do other people think?

I was going to include some comments on recent cases involving cyclists killed or injured but I think this newsletter is already long enough – so I’ll save that till next time.

Ian

Leave a Reply

