News

Dear All

It looked as though there would be no ride on 24th January.   I decided not to send out another last minute appeal – I don’t like harrassing people especially when I’m not able to take on my share.  But Anne and Mick came to the rescue yet again.  Undeterred by what Jenny euphemistically describes as “pretty awful weather” last Sunday (see report below)  they have now agreed to lead the next ride too. What can I say?  Except “Thanks!”

Offers for future rides

Anyone for 21 February?

Clarion extracts 

Still can’t work out how to copy from pdfs with my supposedly improved and upgraded system.  Don’t feel like returning to laboriously copying out extracts on “The Origins of the Clarion Cycling Club and cycling in the 1890s.”  Any advice, Fred?   So – for the moment I’ve decided to re-run some of the early ones from the beginning of the series. After all lots of people have joined us since February 2008– and others may have forgotten!

Thanks

Thanks (again) to everyone who has sent me messages about my pre-Christmas accident. It’s frustrating not being able to ride the bike at all and I shall have to be particularly careful about starting again since the problem is with my left ankle – the one I put to the ground every time I stop.  But so far things are going well. Somewhat to the consultant’s disappointment – he told me how much he enjoys doing the operation – my broken ankle is mending naturally (if quite slowly) and wanted need to be “pinned”.

Still some subs outstanding, I’m told.  Please make Julian’s life a little easier!

Ian

2016 Subs.  Julian writes:

The subscription is unchanged at £8, all of which will be passed on to the National Clarion Cycling Club as in 2015.

Prompt payment would appreciated.  Membership ceases if payment is not received.

Please complete the form attached with the newsletter and return it to me at the address on the form. 

If you prefer to pay by BACS, details of which are shown on the form, please use your surname as reference.  If you want to save a stamp and not send me the form, then email me at: arkell@arkell.info to confirm your payment via BACS.  Payment by PayPal is not possible

Julian

Leave a Reply

