News

                                                       15 November 2016

Dear All

To date I’ve had no offers for 11 December – but I live in hope!   Otherwise the next one will be the last till the New Year. (Stop press: Julian has now offered a ride).

Which brings me neatly onto the question of rides next year. I think I’ve managed to work out a schedule with regular fortnightly rides which avoids both the beginning and end of BST (which can always be a problem) and the London to Brighton Ride on 18 June.  I’ll   include the full list in the next issue, not so much in the expectation that everyone will start making notes for next October or November in their new diaries but rather so you can check through it and see if you spot any errors.

New Year Ride

But in the meantime I need to consult you about our traditional New Year ride to Carrots Café. For many years we used to do this – sometimes hungover and blearly eyed – on 1 January itself.  But an increasing number of other people seemed to get seized with the same idea and it became increasingly difficult to find anywhere to sit  – and more or less impossible to find anywhere where we could all sit together. Not surprising since we’ve had very good turnouts – 14 this year. So for the last few years we have switched to 2 January and that has worked out well, I think.

However, New Year’s Day will be on a Sunday in 2017 and that means that the Monday will be a Bank Holiday  – so the café is likely to be almost as busy then as on the Sunday.  So I am proposing – but we can change this if people disagree – that we  schedule our ride for Tuesday 3 January this time.  Let me know what you think.  Whatever day we decide on I hope to come to this one on the bike – rather than on crutches like this year!

I have sent a message from Tessa with an invitation to the ‘Art in Clay’ exhibition in which she is participating separately

I’ve received the following message on Sunday

Hi Ian,

Unfortunately due to various operations this year (last cataract op tomorrow) I have not done much riding this year but have managed to do the courses to become a South Downs National Park Cycling Ambassador as well as set up Hove Lost Dog Cycle Search Team

I have attached the article I wrote for the Rough Stuff Journal as well as the Search Team Flyer in case people want to widen their cycling experiences.

I hope to be joining rides in the new year as I should be able to see where I’m going as well as hold the handlebars!

Regards

Dave Churchill

Well done Dave! I’m attaching both the article and the flyer with this newsletter.

And now, still with 2017 in mind, a message from our Treasurer. (below)

Ian

Membership subscriptions for 2017.

The subscription is unchanged at £8, all of which will be passed on to the National Clarion Cycling Club, as in 2016.

Prompt payment would appreciated.  Membership ceases if payment is not received.

Please complete the form attached with this newsletter and return it to me at the address on the form.

If you prefer to pay by BACS, details of which are shown on the form, please use your surname as reference.  If you want to save a stamp and not send me the form, then email me to confirm your payment via BACS.  Payment by PayPal is not possible.

Julian

Leave a Reply

