News and spring weekend away

Dear fellow members and friends

Wow! Those autumn slots filled up quickly while I was in France. Thanks everyone – just one more to fill this year. Do I see someone at the back there waving a hand? As Jim reminded you while I was away, there will be a 3-week gap after 16 October to avoid any complications that might arise (as they have a tendency to do!) when the clocks change with the end of BST.

You’ll see that I’ve listed the dates for the early part of next year. New Year’s Day will fall on a Sunday but I thought people wouldn’t want to wait for a fortnight for a “proper” ride so I’ve scheduled the next one for 8 January. Had we gone for a sequence starting on 15th I would definitely have been unavailable for four out of the six rides in January/February/March. Whereas I’m OK (at the moment at least) for all the dates listed below. With so many people coming forward to offer rides – which is great – it’s now far less important that I’m available to act as “backstop” in case no other volunteer emerges by the deadline for the newsletter – but it’s handy to be “available” particularly in the winter months. Besides, I haven’t managed to get out on rides much in 2011, for a variety of reasons including the indirect consequences of an exploding back tyre. I want to come on more rides in 2012 – but not necessarily lead them.

Talking about 2012, here’s a message from Joyce:

Although it doesn’t feel like it, the autumn is coming and we are inevitably moving into winter so it’s perhaps time to think about the spring weekend away. I have not heard of any proposals, but some may be forthcoming. In the meantime I have one I think could be good: the Bath to Bristol cycle route – 15 miles there 15 miles back, a weekend in Bath, a ride on Saturday, option for another ride Sunday. Easter is 6/7/8/9/ April, so I am thinking somewhere around 20/21 April – or 26/27 April. Supposing nothing else comes along to be considered, I would ask those who think they might be interested to contact me. I will set up a “Bath/Bristol” email group so we can communicate.

 
You can contact Joyce at jedmondsmith@yahoo.co.uk

Anyone who would like to contribute a piece – however short – to future newsletters, about anything you think would be of interest, please don’t hesitate to send it to me.

In the meantime – Boots!

Ian

Leave a comment